How To Be Less Overwhelmed

SometimesLessISLess

Let’s face it, if you travel the interwebs very much you can become overwhelmed with all the “content”. Oh look… wouldn’t that be nice to have/try, “someday”. Someday is not on any calendar by the way. If we want to live in a simpler way we will all draw that line in a different place but how do we keep it simple when there is so much out there. When it comes to being ready for a calamity or simply not wanting to be overwhelmed by stuff we need a filter. As a designer I have had to make countless choices and the one system that works well for me is to have a plan and a purpose. The more defined the plan and purpose the more things you can toss out or ignore. I use it this way. If it doesn’t fit the plan, I toss it. I may throw it in a temporary bin but that bin gets emptied on a regular basis. If I am making a a kit, the purpose takes over. The purpose helps me choose each item and I don’t stress over all the possibilities out there. I can look at the kit and know why each item is in there. I have a reason based on price, availability, size etc. If you have a good reason you never have to be embarrassed about your choice.

Leave a comment